twenty-three: “in the summertime” by the rural alberta advantage.

nyc. 2012.

I came across the Rural Alberta Advantage in December of 2008. I immediately fell in love and have only missed one of their shows in NYC since they first started touring. My reason for missing it was simple: I was in Paris. They were also one of the main reasons I went to SXSW in 2010… well, them and the warm weather. It’s rather cold here in the city in March.

It’s their first album, Hometowns, that I would put in my top 25 albums of all time. It’s also the last song on the record, “In the Summertime,” that I would definitely put in my top 10 favorite songs. While many songs I love shift slightly in their importance in my life, this song and its painfully true lyrics stay put.  It’s one of the greatest love songs every written… in this gal’s humble opinion.

“Sans” is French for “without.” To be “without,” is both heartbreaking and freeing… or maybe neither.

“In the Summertime” by Rural Alberta Advantage:

And when we’re middle aged,
You tell me I loved you like a renegade
And how I say the things that make you sway.
And mostly I tell you you did the same.

2 comments
  1. Ness said:

    I’m in love with Rural Alberta Advantage. It made me smile to see this post.

    • chatel said:

      Aren’t they absolutely amazing!? I love them so much.

Leave a Reply

