thirty-five: “soaps” by arab strap.

port de barcelona. 19 march 2012.

Like a moth to a fucking flame, when I read that Arab Strap’s Malcolm Middleton is releasing a new album next month under the moniker Human Don’t Be Angry, I went into obsessive Arab Strap mode. This song from Philophobia, as well as “Amor Veneris” from The Red Thread, have been on repeat for the past few days. Sometimes there’s no such thing as too much.

Sit by me silently and brush my beard. No mess to mop up from the bed today. Will we sit next door and watch the soaps? We’ve nothing to do and we’ve nothing to say. Oh, when you go… Recently, we’ve been somewhat volatile and last night it starts with that Joan Osborne song. I hate it anyway, but you made it worse.
I know why you laughed and you should know you were wrong. Oh, when you go… Bird number one taught me I shouldn’t trust, that’s why I find unfounded doubts abound. But number two proved that with none, we’ve nothing. And now I’m only happy when you’re not around. Oh, when you go…

Leave a Reply

