one-hundred-fifty-six: “being in love” by songs: ohia.

film instituut nederland. amsterdam. march 2013.

film instituut nederland. amsterdam. march 2013.

When Jason Molina of Song: Ohia and Magnolia Electric Co. died two weeks ago, it was a devastating loss. He was only 39, and was a brilliant song writer whose heartbreakingly beautiful voice resonated just as deep as his painfully true lyrics.

“Being In Love” will always be one of my favorite songs by him. Always.

Being in love
Means you are completely broken
Then put back together

The one piece that was yours
Is beating in your lover’s breast
She says the same thing about hers

However I have gotten here
I have plans to be with you
And for the first time it is working

And I am proof that the heart
Is a risky fuel to burn
Yeah, we are proof
That the heart is a risky fuel to burn

What’s left after that’s all gone
I hope to never learn
But if you stick with me, you can help me
I’m sure we’ll find new things to burn

‘Cause we are proof
That the heart is a risky fuel to burn
Yeah, we are proof
That the heart is a risky fuel to burn

Leave a Reply

