one-hundred-eighty: “when you knew me when” by emily arin.

honfleur, normandy. france.  10 july 2013.

honfleur, normandy. france. 10 july 2013.

It’s just so sad and so lovely.

When You Knew Me When

I found some letters
in a box tonight
they were from you
kept as a clue

Of what used to be
when you knew me when
I read them again and again
all sense of time was suspended

I had forgotten
how it felt to be
under the spell
of your inkwell

You wrote poetry
when you knew me when
each line whispered an amen
do you still pray with your pen?

So much has happened
in the years gone by
though now it seems
time is a dream

And I’m back to
when you knew me when
before my heart learned to pretend
it feels so good to remember

You captured something
in your tender words
I thought was gone
left on the lawn

Of that summer
when you knew me when
when we both felt born again
in finding the root of the stem

Leave a Reply

